Wednesday, March 10, 2010

Shields Shall Be Splintered

Shields Shall Be Splintered: Anytime you are about to take damage and have a shield equipped, you may choose to attempt to sacrifice the shield in order to avoid incurring the wound. Make a saving throw vs. death and, if the save is successful, the shield is sundered by the blow and destroyed, but you take no damage. In the case of spells that allow a saving throw for half damage, you may invoke this rule if you fail your save against the spell. Doing so successfully reduces the damage by half. In the case of magical shields, invoking this rule successfully means that you take no damage from blows (or half from spells) but the shield loses one "plus" from its enchantment. Thus, a +1 shield would become a normal shield, a +2 shield becomes a +1 shield, etc.


  1. I have one question. If a spell hits and you do make the saving throw to halve the damage, can the shield be sacrificed to eliminate the rest of the damage?

  2. I'm trying to avoid making a hard and fast decision on this right now, preferring for it to come up in actual play before I land on one side of the fence or the other. Player input will always be considered and we'll come to a decision the first time a fireball lands in your midst--which should be the week after next. :-)